blocks:courserecycle:userguide

Course Recycle block (course recycling): User guide

Introduction

Course recycle centralises the decisions and triggering of the “end of life cycle” processing of courses by offering several end-of-life methodologies and strategies, involving teachers in the decision or not. for each course, the component determines the end-of-life action to run at recycling time, among “Do nothing”, “Reset”, “Make a backup”, “Archive*” or “Delete”.

*The archive action is planned to be open to evolution by integrators, but will provide as standard a connector allowing a “move the course instance to another Moodle” strategy (See the Publishflow component) .

Using the block

In edit mode, drop a “course recycling” block on the course.

:!: Depending on your configuration, the presence of the block can be forced on all courses, or “pushed” onto all existing courses.

Each click by the teacher on the block illustration changes the choice state, which remains possible until the end date of the choice window set in central administration.

At the date the teacher's ability to change the choice is locked, the state illustration turns red, and the administrator can then launch the processing.

The possible choices for the teacher are:

  • Leave as is: No action
  • Reset: The course is reset, teacher roles are kept
  • Archive: Builds an archive of the course
  • Delete: Course deletion

Examples:

Leave as is - Reset - Archive - Delete - of the course by the teacher / locked state at the date set in the component's central settings:

Central settings

Access: Server/scheduled tasks

  • Reset Date: Recycling launch date
  • Choice Lock: End date of the teacher's choice window
  • Show date: Date when the block appears for teachers
  • Default action: Default action if the teacher has not made a choice
  • Wish recording state:
    • Leave as is: no action
    • Reset: keeps teacher roles but resets the whole course
    • Archive: Builds an mbz archive (linked to the defined archive strategy)
    • Delete: Course deletion
  • Notification: The number of notifications to send before the execution date. Notifications will be sent at 15-day intervals.
  • Default text: The text to send. This course will have to be recycled on %TASKDATE%. You can still choose which action will be taken on this course at that date. If you make no choice, your course will be %DEFAULTACTION%. Go <a href=“%COURSEURL%”>to your course</a> to make your choice or to disable these notifications. This text can use the placeholders %NOTIF% for the notification number, %REMAININGNOTIFS% for the number of remaining notifications and %TASKDATE% to indicate the processing date.

Credits

  • Valéry Frémaux - Development and tests
  • Florence Labord - Documentation and tests

Back to the component index - Back to plugins index - Back to catalogue

blocks/courserecycle/userguide.txt · Dernière modification : (modification externe)

Donate Powered by PHP Valid HTML5 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki